Nina

Working 9 to 5 - to free range or not to free range.

Hello

I have not ordered yet - but hopefully soon to be the owner of a cube. I have just read a post (sorry, i have forgotten the name) which seems as if the keeper can let the chooks free range while at work.

This is something I hadn't considered possible while I was at work - thought I would let them into the run in the morning then have free range of the garden in the evening till sun down and beddy byes.

What do 9-5 working omleteers do in this regard? Considering I live will live in a semi detached in Chelmsford, do not have fields :( . Can urban foxes be a problem during the day?

I would luuurve to have the girlies free range as much as possible but want to keep them safe.

Yes, foxes are a problem during the day time. I live in an urban area and have an average sized garden. I also work 9 – 5 and I’ve been keeping Chickens for around 4 years now

I leave my hens in the run when I'm out at work and then let them free range when I get home, until dusk - they seem to put themselves to bed then. If not they can be tempted back into the run with a little piece of fruit. I let them free range at the weekends as long as I'm at home to keep an eye on them. I had the unfortunately task of almost wrestling one of my chickens out of the jaws of a fox in broad daylight, right outside my kitchen door. So now as I rule I always put them back in the run if I'm going out for more than an hour. Good luck.

:)

I wouldnt personally let mine free range whilst I wasnt at home.

Anything as well as a fox could happen......cat.....escaped dog.....parcel man leaves gate open :roll: etc etc