Chick Chick

Cleaning routine for cube

Hi, I’m still new to the cube and chickens and was wondering what peoples cleaning routines are for it?

Im poo picking the dropping tray daily and cleaning the whole lot once a week, is this ok?

Thanks.

Hi, I'm new too, only two weeks in. So far I'm cleaning out once a week with a pressure washer. I probably should do the daily picking too, I'll start that from today! 

Hi AyeAyeMagpie, maybe the daily poo picking isn’t necessary.

I’ve had mine for 7 weeks but only been in cube overnight for 2 weeks as got them at a couple of weeks old  

they are lovely but means I will be waiting a while for eggs...

I only clean out the poop drawer once every two weeks now, but will increase two once a week over Autumn and Winter. I line my poop drawer with newspaper to make the cleaning easier.

But I only have 3 bantams right now. The more chickens the more poop!

• Thanks 1

Yes I'm down to 2 and they never use the poop tray so easy for me but I do clean the nest box every flipping day.  Grrrr >:(  Cant be bothered to retrain them.  

In the days when they slept in the right place I used to empty it every 2 days (daily in summer to prevent flies) and wash it out every couple of weeks.  I use sawdust, about a handful and the poo slides out and is compostable.  I found the newspaper sometimes got wet.

You're doing fine chick chick and AyeAyeMagpie the novelty will wear off soon xD

• Thanks 1

I empty the poo trays and scrape off anything from the roosting bars every few days. I’ve had my girls for 4 years now and the Cube for about 2. At first I was really good and pressure washed the house once a fortnight, but I have to admit that now I only do it every couple of months.

• Thanks 1

Oh it's good to hear how other people do it. And yes, cleaning out a coop is novel at the moment, I'm sure I'll be less keen by winter, ha ha!