Yolky

Those with hard wood chips

I am slovenly :oops:

I have never poo picked although I do rake over regularly and mix in Stalosan F every couple of months

Woodchips in run one (Eglu run) on their seventh month, I regularly chuck handfuls of Aubiose in to avoid any dampness and this works wonders.

Woodchips mixed with chunky shavings in run two in their third week and looking immaculate

All fine and no smells or flies! (so far)

I have wood chips in the WIR and also inside the run of their house. Its been down a couple of weeks and I just hosed it down and the poo washed through the chips into the soil. So I was rather pleased about that. I keep meaning to get some Stalosan F but have been put off by the prices online, especially the postage. Anyone know of any shops that sell it?

I have Hemcore inside the roosting box and nest box which I poo pick everyday.

interesting question....

as i have mine on wood chips(I am new to chickens) and when i went to clean the run i just couldnt work out what i was meant to be picking up(I have horses and after reading some threads on poo picking thought picking was going to be obvious)!! NOT

So i had a little sweep up and tidy around and have gone for once a week option in the run of checking and picking and cleaning the water container out. Then the cube I have lined the trays with newspaper and will clean those twice a week...I just put the paper in an incinerator as I cant see there is much quantity to compost ?? so minimal I have 5 hens. I have only cleaned the perches once but probably will do this as and when...., they were ok this week

I do get a little pile of poo some days in the nest area(on hemcore horse bedding) and just scoop it out with a trowel.

I did buy some mite powder so at some stage will have a sprinkle as precautionary and will probably clear the chippings in a few more weeks ...have yet to work that out!

Hope that helps

indie