suzi

New to chickens.......cleaning regime for hen house please?

I am new to chicken keeping and have 4 x 6month old Bluebells.

I need advice on the best way to clean the house (and run),prevent red mites and lice please?

Also what are the following for and how do I use them?

Stalosan f, Diatom, Poultry Shield and Spice,

I have been told that adding Cider Vinegar to the water will help keep their back ends clean?One has orange,frothy runny poo and have ordered some Bokashi bran,how much do I use and what do I add it to? They have layers pellets,grit and garlic powder in the morning and a large handful of corn about 5pm ish.The breeder wormed them 6 weeks ago with Flubenvet (apparently).Claret has advised me to also get some Avipro,have just ordered some.

They preen themselves and dust bath an awful lot.Is this normal?

Is there anything else I need to know,use,look out for?

I want to look after them properly and am really worried about it!

Many thanks,

Suzi

I'm assuming you have an Eglu? If it's a wooden house, then different rules apply.

Eglus are easy to clean - get the hosepipe out, find an old scrubbing brush or buy a pot-cleaning brush, and use a few drops of Ecover washing-up liquid to clean everything in about ten minutes! Couldn't be easier.

Scrub the roosting-bars (it's easier if you buy a spare set so you can leave them to dry) and then I cover the ends of mine in Diatom powder. Shake a bit of Diatom around the rest of the Eglu, put the lid back on and it's done!

Diatom is for red mites and lice (I think) - you can put it in the dust-bath, or directly on the chooks as well to prevent lice.

Stalosan is also a lice/mite deterrent, and apparently it smells wonderful, it's on my 'must buy' list next time I am feeling flush! Can't tell you much more about that one, though.

Spice is a sort of tonic, you put it in their water or feed and it perks them up, I believe it's especially good if they are moulting.