PinkBunny

Guinea Pigs/Winter/Eglu

Hi there,

I'm going to be getting some guinea pigs in around a week or so (looking at getting ones that need rehoming). I have just bought a pink eglu + 2m run that should be arriving any day. I was planning on keeping them outside all year, with the piggies having an extreme temperature jacket + a snuggle safe / hay if necessary... however, I've been reading that although the eglu is advertised as suitable for guinea pigs all year round it actually isn't & that the piggies should be brought indoors in the winter & def kept off the grass? Thoughts/opinions please! :) I'm new to keeping piggies, although I have bunnies (mostly house bunnies, as they thumped like crazy in their hutch at night)... !

I'm sure I'd figure it all out, just want to be prepared :)

Thanks X

Hi and congrats on your decision!

What I understand is that guinea pigs can handle winter quite well, but only if they are allowed to build up a good winter coat by letting them get used to the drop in temperature. Just chucking them outside from always having lived indoors isn't a good plan. The same as with bunnies really. When getting rescues it's important to know if they where indoor piggies or outdoor piggies.

As a extra precaution, you can buy the isolation stuff for the Go in the Omlet webshop. Bought this as well and planning to put it in my chicken coop somewhere during autumn.