grahamrhind

Ducks with a chicken setup

I know that the knowledge of the members here extends way beyond chickens, so if anybody can help with these duck questions, I'd be much obliged.

My current setup is for chickens (Eglu Classic, treadle feeder with chicken feed, all-day free-ranging), but it's currently empty as my surviving hen has defected to a neighbour's flock (I can just about see her to wave to across the fields some mornings). 

Enter somebody who has asked me to take their four Indian Runner ducks which, as the alternative was for them to end up in the pot, I agreed to do.  However, I have no experience at all with ducks.

So, the questions are related to what I need to do to make my setup duck-friendly.

• Do I have to buy special feed for the ducks, or will they be happy with the feed I have left over from the chickens? Or can they get their nutrition just from free-ranging?
  • Could they feed from a treadle feeder? I'm wondering if their bills would make it hard for them to get at the food?  If not, what alternatives are there - I want to avoid open food sources as I've only just got rid of the rats?
  • If I remove the roosting bars, is an Eglu classic OK for them?  It may be too small for four ducks, but actually, as we have no predators, do they need to roost at all or are they happy to settle down anywhere? Or do I need to look at buying a new house for them?
  • And ... anything else I may not have thought about. I'm a bit anxious about being fobbed off with them (though I'm sure I'll love them when they arrive), but I'm a sucker for rescuing animals, so .....

Thanks in advance!

Graham

Hey, yeah we've had ducks for nearly 10 years! We started with Campbell hybrid types and now have a trio of Call Ducks and they are messier than chickens!