Adam Brunning

Feather help!

Hi everyone, 

I am a relatively newbie to the chicken keeping world, and I really hope you lovely people can offer some advice!

We have had our four girls for a year and so have seen all four seasons with them. However, one of them, our Suffolk Brown started around 8-9 weeks ago losing some feathers on the left hand breast (as you look at her). It was fairly slow and only appears to be the top layer. 

We have been super lucky over the year not to have red mite at all until in January where we discovered a small infestation, after a lot of hard work we are super confident that we eradicated them (we think it was because we put a felt roof on top of there wooden house, to help stop leaks!)

I have given her a good going over and can't see any red mite or lice on her, she has also continued to lay throughout the whole year also. 

Her other feathers are lovely and fluffy and her comb is lovely and red. 

I have heard that chickens can moult but think this maybe the wrong time of the year? Could this be pruning to help with the heat? The three others haven't lost any feathers like her. I can't see that any others are "bullying" her and plucking them out.

Any thoughts/ advice would be truly gratefully received! Ive attached some photos of her, where hopefully you can see the large white patch?!

Thanks

Adam

IMG_1274.jpg

IMG_1273.jpg

IMG_1267.jpg

Thank you so much for coming back to me and genuinely hadn’t even thought of this. 
I’ve just had a good google of it and can see that there are treatments available including trying to massage it to help clear it. I understand if left untreated it could be fatal? What would you recommend I do? 

Also huge thanks for the info around the wire.....

Thank you! 

I tried desperately to catch her this morning but no luck! Picked her up this evening and followed some videos I had seen.