Sonali

Chck beak

Hi all 

I have noticed in the last two days one of my chicks had the top of her beak chipped and then this morning I noticed that the other one had the same issue. I am new to chicken keeping and worried if I am doing something wrong and if so what can I do different. Also will the beak grow back? I have conflicting information online and quite confused and worried for the poor chicks. They seem happy but I don’t know if they are in pain. 

Are these chicks you have hatched or are they ones you have bought and what age are they now? Chicks when hatched have a 'tooth' on their top beak which they use to break open the shell. That falls off quite quickly and that may be what you are seeing? Is there anything hard they could damage their beaks on? If these are chicks you have bought what breed are they, because some high volume intensive hybrid producers clip the beaks to stop feather pecking (horrible practice)?

Hi the chicks are 2 weeks old and I bought them home when they were two days old from a hatchery. I have read about the “tooth” but was not sure if this was the case. I really hope it is as I was concerned I need to give them some kind of vitamin. They definitely did not have the beaks cut when I got them home. I had a glass bowl with their grit in it could this may have caused it? Their food is in one of the trays with the little holes and they have a waterer. They are in a plastic tub for now until they go outside. They do keep pecking the side of the box but I wouldn’t have thought this would cause any harm. I’m not sure though. I have attached some pictures of the cuties as well. C5BF4F52-FF17-4B5F-B93B-C2A94952C584.thumb.jpeg.3b7868191c34ac7ec0cddf0423fb00a4.jpeg05F8D9C5-F938-4573-B8BF-73641E57918F.thumb.jpeg.ac0edc17b7dfc20f87624a1958d67db1.jpeg