jomaxsmith

Tell me about dustbaths

I'm new to all this and it's as anxiety inducing as having a new baby - I'm at the stage where every new thing is wonderful but terrifying!

This morning Daisy was looking a bit itchy (Oh My God - yuck - Parasites - was my first thought). Then a bit later all three of them were dustbathing in the Hemcore.

Daisy made a big hole and sort of laid on her side, then the white chicken (I still don't like her name :? ) made a hole and started kicking and flapping until she was covered in hemcore and soil. Then Lily started trying to push Daisy out of her hole and started pecking at D's feathers in a communal grooming kind of way. Both D and white chicken were rubbing the backs of their necks in the dust and looking vaguely orgasmic. Eventually all three just sat in their own holes and let the world go by for a while before they suddenly all remembered they were supposed to be on Cat Watch and started doing their meerkat thing again.

Is that normal behaviour?

I was supposed to be doing housework this morning, but somehow I spent most of my time watching the chooks!

Jo

I love watching the girls dustbathing too and they now have their own dustbath - I use a shallow trugtub filled with playsand, some diatom and a sprinkling of red mite powder and they spend ages in there :lol:

Then they love to shake it all off just outside the patio doors :roll:

They do look great when they're in there throwing it around dont they??

Yes - I dont think your garden will ever be the same again!

That's what I'm afraid of - I've only been the Chair of our village's new gardening club for 3 months and I think my reputation as a gardener is about to go down the pan!!

I might well have the best home made compost though with all the muck and hemcore!

Jo

I might well have the best home made compost though with all the muck and hemcore!

Jo

You will have!

I did this last winter to protect some of my raised beds from maurauding hens!!

IMG_0177.jpg