Cindig

Hen not eating - but feel I can't follow vets advice!

Summary: I don’t want to withdraw medicine if it is helping her but I can’t face pushing things down her throat and I’m not even convinced that it’s the solution anyway.

I’ve drafted an even longer version of this, this is my attempt at a short version:

• I am not very experienced, have previously fostered three hens, a few years ago.
  • We adopted three ex-caged hens on Saturday. In pecking order: Indiana, Ophelia and Ginny.
  • Ginny won’t eat the layer’s crumble or crumble/water mash. I have numerous feed stations.
  • Ginny is drinking and laying eggs and scratching around pecking at the ground.
  • Ginny does have a bit of a hunched look, often keeping her neck close to her body, but is moving around to scratch and peck.
  • Her crop felt different to the other two girls, full of grit and a bit hard but not big.
  • I know that the stress of re-homing, plus a large thunderstorm that evening, plus being bottom of the pecking order, plus the hot weather could all put her off her food. On the other hand I was becoming more and more worried about her and didn't want to leave her to become poorly before doing something.
  • On Tuesday I took her to a vet listed on the BHWT website. I’m sure he was very knowledgeable, but I didn’t get the impression that he was particularly experienced with chickens.  
  • He thought there was something hard in the crop but didn’t think that it was preventing food from passing (although he didn’t rule it out). He said the crop wasn’t impacted as it would be much larger. Vent was fine. He said her breathing was fast and it could be a respiratory infection.
  • He prescribed tablets twice a day (Synuclav) and a fluid to be syringed once a day (Rheumocam). The vet nurse showed me how to push them down the side of the beak and down her throat with a finger, until I could feel it down her neck.