Guest lynda

strange sleeping habits

Hi there. I'm a bit new to all this. We got a 10 week old mini lop, Billy, yesterday, and he has taken to sleeping in the hay loft!! Is this quite normal? And now that he has started doing this, does this mean he'll do it forever? Has any one else had this problem? We were wondering if it was because there wasn't enough bedding, so I've given him a cuddly toy for company and loads of hay for him to make a little nest, maybe he needed to be snuggly? Has anyone got any ideas?

I was also wondering about how much grass to introduce and how quickly? We were trying to avoid an upset tummy! We managed to find a spot in the garden where there's mostly dried earth, and not much grass at all, and have put the eglu there. How much grass can I introduce to a 10 week old, and at what rate?

I would appreciate any feed back. Thanks.

NO GRASS. Yes I am shouting.

I put my new rabbits on grass 2 weeks ago when I got them. I had a poorly bunny for a week, it was very worrying. They are now on the patio so no grass allowed.

Clare T had said no grass for 6 months :shock: Just give them hay and rabbit food, I buy the one for babies and dwarf's.

If I take the water bottle out and put it on the run, one of mine Fudge, sits in the hay rack. I would not worry, Billy just likes it.

I have put boxes for them to run through in the run to keep them happy, they love them. They run through them like they on an assault course.

Claire, why NO GRASS ? every time i visit the vets they are always telling me that rabbits need grass as part of their diet, its very important to have fresh grass, obviously rabbits eat grass in the wild from birth, they cant get hold of pellets, ive always found as long as dont mix the diet too much then they are generally ok. My rabbits have always eaten grass from a young age certainly younger than six months old and i have never experienced any problems. :?