Popcorn

Taking clippings

I've got a lovely passion flower creeping up the side of my house.

I want to take a clipping so I can grow some up a spare bit of fence in the garden.

Now, I know this is a fairly simple thing to do, but can anyone advise me on how to do it properly please, so I can grow a nice new healthy one ?

Thank you :)

Errr - try a book? For reading about clippings not for pressing them or growing them in :roll:

Actually my Mum had green hands and toes and she took clippings of everything by sticking bits in jam jars of water on her kitchen windowsill. When they had lots of roots they got planted - she made it look so easy.

Thats the technique I use Jane plus I put a few cuttings in rooting powder into soil and let them take their chances. I find that taking the cutting and rooting it at a growing point (where the leaves form) seems to work best but I have never done this with veggies before :?:

I'm not entirely sure about cuttings either as I've pretty much always used the glass-of-water-on-the-kitchen-windowsill technique as well, which my mum and my grandma both used to do. With geraniums I just strip off the bottom leaves, clip off the flowers and stick 'em straight in the garden and water them. They look dead for a week and then suddenly you see new little green leaves that shows it's grown new roots. I remember doing that in biology at school a very long time ago :shock: We had to stick lots of softwood cuttings in a pot, water them well, and then cover them with a clear plastic bag with a couple of small holes cut in the top, to create a mini greenhouse effect. We did geraniums and pelargoniums, daisies, lavender and rosemary that way. I grew a clematis from a cutting last year - more by luck than anything else - using much the same method, but attempted to be a little less cavalier about it! It's probably worth trying for a passion flower as well if you're prepared to experiment...