Tink

How many in eglu without run???

Hi everyone...

I just noticed a post on one of the other threads that suggested an eglu is big enough for 5 chickens without a run.

My eglu does not have the run attached - it is in a WIR which is roughly 6ft x 11ft..... Does anyone have any idea how many girls this would be suitable for??

Thank you!!

The technical answer is 3 medium sized hens. However I know that others on here have posted that they have two Eglus and yet five or six hens will all pile into the same one at night! They do squish up quite close together.

I think five would probably fit although you might have a queue for the nesting-box. Not sure about the run size, sounds about right to me but I'm not good at visualising that size, someone else on here will probably have an idea though.

I currently have 3 hens in my Eglu and WIR but at the end of August I will be picking up 2 more so I will have 5 and my run is 11ft X 5ft ish.

I asked last year about if 5 hens would be ok and the general opinion was an absolute yes :D

I am planning on adding a second nest box and read somewhere that a plastic children's potty is perfect for them so I will put the second nest in the Eglu at the back each morning and just take it out in the evening when they go to bed :D

Thank you everyone for the advice...that is good to know :D

so....which breeds should the next 2 be..... :think::D

Whatever you can get hold of! Bluebelles are good! :D

aaahhhhh, funny you should mention a Blubelle....Ive been badgering my OH all day to let me have one :lol:

Thank you everyone for the advice...that is good to know :D

so....which breeds should the next 2 be..... :think::D

Whatever you can get hold of! Bluebelles are good! :D

aaahhhhh, funny you should mention a Blubelle....Ive been badgering my OH all day to let me have one :lol: