buddoggy

Under the weather chook with a foamy eye...advice please...

Hi All.

I hope someone can offer me some advice for my little ill chook as I am new to chicken keeping.

I have three Rhode Rocks,I have had them since mid July.Two are now laying but the third is yet to give it a whirl.

They have all been wormed approx two weeks ago and de-bugged too as I found lice on them.

Now the one that is not laying seems quite fed up and has been like this for a couple of days,no longer charging around the garden after one of the others who has found a grub!

I thought she was probably going to start laying but today I notice that she had some foam in the corner of both eyes.This looks clear just like bubbles ,both of her eyes look clear with no discharge.

The last two nights she has took to the roost early as well and when I went to check on her this evening the foam had gone but her nostrils looked runny

She is still pecking about the garden and wolfed the beansprouts down today but didnt really bother with the veggies and stuff that they had for dinner this evening.

She seems to be laying down more than the others too and today when she lay down she shut her eyes for a brief moment and I am sure her wattles under her ears went a different colour but she suddenly got up and they went back to pinky red again!

I picked her up today and she kind of whiffed a bit too,not like the normal chickeny whiff.

Would love some advice if anyone has any . I am looking to take her to the vets too ,anyone any experience with any west midlands vets.

xx

You can't be too careful with eyes IMO, so taking her to the vet is a good thing. :wink:

We've had a couple of eye problems in our flock and they have both required antibiotics usually in the form of Baytril. If the vet gives you drops and after a couple of days there is no improvement insist you have some Baytril. (drops did not work for our girls and sadly one lost their sight as a result of this)

Hi Guys ,