merlina

Bald breast

Oh dear, my first post sounds like a troll ;)

I have 2 brown hybrids. They are about 1.4 yrs old and free range as much as possible

One, I noticed today has an almost completely bare breast - both sides under the wings but not at the very front. I've read a lot about moulting, and this everything seems to say they lose their neck/head/tail feathers first. They don't seem to have lost any of these and I haven't seen any feathers around

I had another hen, a bluebell which died suddenly a couple of weeks ago after being 'off' for just a day, so obviously I'm worried

Since then I've wormed them and moved the coop (arc type)

I've checked for mites etc and not seen anything obvious - the coop is perma-drenched in diatom

the bare skin looks quite healthy - smooth, not obviously red or irritated

any thoughts much appreciated

I've no experience of this but just wanted to send my support! She couldn't be broody, could she? I seem to remember reading somewhere that one of the things that broody hens do is pluck the feathers from their chest (I could be making this up entirely!).

Sorry, hope that someone who knows more comes along soon. And welcome to the board :)

I've no experience of this but just wanted to send my support! She couldn't be broody, could she? I seem to remember reading somewhere that one of the things that broody hens do is pluck the feathers from their chest (I could be making this up entirely!).

Sorry, hope that someone who knows more comes along soon. And welcome to the board :)

I read the same thing, but no I don't think she's broody - no sign of wanting to sit on eggs or in the nest box and generally bimbling about as usual

Thanks for the welcome :)

I have two bluebells who have a similar problem, it doesn't affect my other girls and they seem in perfect health, they just have slight bald patches down their breastbones.