Leicester_H Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Hi I have a Fb account (say user name hazel). Ages ago, in order to understand how something worked I created a test account (say user name lezah with a different email address) and hazel and lezah were friends. I then unfriended them. However, account lezah keeps getting emails suggesting that lezah might like to be friends with various people all of whom are friends of hazel. So the accounts are still linked in some way. Does this mean anyone I unfriend is still connected in some way ? How can I completely separate the 2 accounts ?? Any ideas ? H Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redwing Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 Can you block them too? that may do the trick I recently unfriended someone on Facebook and then blocked them too just to be sure In fact just to be extra sure I took my whole account offline which you could also do with Lezah - I think they call it disabling or deactivating your account. It still exists but is hidden from everyone If you still need to use the Lezah account I'd just try the blocking option though Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lewis Posted February 5, 2013 Share Posted February 5, 2013 They do the "find a friend" thing through email contacts and the networks you are in - Location, workplace, education/Uni etc. So I guess both accounts have similar email contacts or networks. If you only added the 1 friend to your other account, the only other friends it can suggest, are friends of that account... If that makes sense? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leicester_H Posted February 6, 2013 Author Share Posted February 6, 2013 Hi Thanks - I will try blocking. The dummy account has 'no' info - network, work etc - it was/is now purely an account I can log into to see how things look to a non-friend and/or try apps that I don't want accessing my real info. Thanks, H Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chortle Chook Posted February 6, 2013 Share Posted February 6, 2013 I recently disabled my facebook account and it seems people can see that I have done so as every now and again someone asks me where I have gone. It is actually a real relief to be shot of it and all those emails it generated. I got rid of it because I noticed that real friends were becoming 'virtual' as they were relying on my facebook updates to tell them how I was - which it didn't as, on account of the 'broadcast all' nature or facebook I could only put the most banal things on it and nothing that really mattered. Since I disabled it I'm back to getting phone calls, texts and private emails from my friends which is really nice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...