AnneEgg

Chicken Rescue - Cube Mk1 and Mk2 - Differences??? Spares???

Morning!

I had a Classic Eglu several years ago, but haven't had chooks for a while, or posted here for a while (no idea what my account name was back then either, so I'm showing as a complete newbie!).

Our local town has a housing estate with an increasing chook problem - I'd like to go and collect a few before they are either run over or destroyed by the RSPCA, but the return of chooks to my life wasn't quite planned just yet and I will need to get a coop and run before I attempt any rescue.  I'm looking at the Cube, but I'm not sure I have the funds for a brand new one and am looking at secondhand ones.  I need to know whether the Mk1 and MK2 are interchangeable regarding spares, run fixings etc - I don't want to buy a secondhand one with only 1 or 2m run, only to find I can't extend the space!  I've found a post on here about MK1 and MK2 Eglu differences, but I'm not sure about the Cube...

So, 2 questions...  

Please can anyone tell me about the Cube differences as above?

And does anyone have a set-up they would like to sell to me?  The bigger the better in terms of run length, walk-in extensions... anything!  Hit me with what you got lol  I'm in S Norfolk, but I have access to a van and can travel :)

Thanks for reading, guys!

Good to hear that you're 'returning to chickens'.

The newer cubes (mark 2) are quite different from the original, and judging by feedback I have seen online, I would suggest getting a mark 1 if you cane find one anywhere. There are wanted and for sale sections on this forum, and ebay usually has a fairly brisk trade in them.

Good luck, and do let us know how you get on... where are these chooks coming from?

Thanks for your reply :)