phenna_family

is this normal

you'll find threads on here where people waited months! If your chickens are looking healthy and happy, they will lay eventually - it feels like forever while you are waiting, I know. A good sign is when they start flattening down when you approach them, it indicates they are ready.

I waited over a month for mine. The first time I looked up the garden and could only see one chicken in the run I panicked, and rushed up there convinced that the other one had died in the night :oops: (I'm new to chickens and quite anxious!) To my amazement she was on the nesting-box, and laying a lovely egg. Since then she has laid every day, as has her sister who started a week or so later.

Be sure to let us know when the first one arrives, it is SO EGGCITING!

our latest addition laid an egg the day after we got her,

then nothing for a week or more then another egg.

Then nothing for a few days then three eggs in three days........

tis a big thing to lay an egg.

takes effort and practice.

we're not battery farmers, we love our girls and pamper them and we hope they know they have to produce like clockwork

give her time...you're doing everything right, she's a happy little chook settling in :D

:) Claire, don't worry at all. I remember exactly that feeling as I waited 10 and 11 weeks for mine to lay, and all over the forum people were announcing their first eggs!

But, well worth the wait. They may have been younger birds & nature will take it's course, giving you a wonderful surprise one day.

You'll know that the chickens have matured when their combs become big & bright red, & they may start crouching when you approach. Those may be the signs when laying is imminent.

I don't suppose you'll be waiting as long as I did. :)