cazwa

Emaciated hen - how to fatten?

Hi, Im new to hens, just got 2 in February at point of lay and have a very poorly girl on my hands this week. We were away at the beginning of the week with neighbours looking after them and when we came back wednesday night we noticed our Rhode Rock was looking very poorly. She had diahorrea, wasn't eating or drinking, standing hunched up. I thought it was worms at first so started her on verm-x, but by that point she wasn't interested in food. By friday I rang the vets and over the phone she suspected cocci, so prescribed Baycox. I started her on that on saturday, she perked up on sunday and was moving around. But by this morning she was hunched again.

I took her into the vets this mornign and he was shocked at how thin she was, he said she was emaciated and in appaling condition! I feel so bad that I didn't notice this, she's been standing with her feathers fluffed all the time and the times I handled her to syringe her medicine in I was in such a flap doing it I didn't notice her thinness.

The vet has sent off a sample to confirm whether it is cocci but he said she is in such a state anyway it may be a more serious underlying disease and that there is only a slim chance of her recovering. He gave her a shot of antibiotics and Ive more to give her tomorrow.

So, Im looking to get her fattened up as quickly as I can, and would like to know what to give her. The vet said she is in such a state that if she will only eat mealworms then let her. So I have! But what else can I give her? She won't touch her normal layers pellets. Im also giving her mixed corn and poultry drink. Anything else? Anything I can do to pull her through?

By the way I bought her from a reputable dealer who had her vaccinated against everything.