BethanyRose

New to rabbits! Eglu go run still getting wet with rain cover on

Hi there, 

I am new to rabbits. I collect 2 8 week old Netherland Dwarves next month. I have a few questions. As they are so tiny at this age, do you take them in at night? We bought the Eglu go hutch and 2 metre run with skirt. I bought the full length rain cover (half green, half clear), but the rain I notice still makes the run wet? How do you stop this? Do you add an extra cover? Also, we are undecided whether to put the run onto grass, or concrete or artificial grass as it is easily hosed down? The bunnies will be allowed out with close supervision in a play pen on the grass once a day. 

Any advice appreciated. 

Thanks

Jo and Baby bunnies Beatrix and Rocky

Depends on the weather and where they were kept before, if you need to keep them in. Hot weather can be just as bad as cold in this case. I would ask your breeder this.

Are they normal short haired? If so, the run doesn’t need to be perfectly dry. They will wee there anyway. Personally I would keep them on concrete. Much easier to clean. Grass would need a lot of rotating. Not so much because of the munching, but more the wee.
I really wouldn’t do artificial grass. They will try anything and chewing on it, can’t be good.

Show us some pictures when you get your fluff babies!

• Thanks 1

On 8/24/2021 at 3:04 PM, Cat tails said:

Depends on the weather and where they were kept before, if you need to keep them in. Hot weather can be just as bad as cold in this case. I would ask your breeder this.

Are they normal short haired? If so, the run doesn’t need to be perfectly dry. They will wee there anyway. Personally I would keep them on concrete. Much easier to clean. Grass would need a lot of rotating. Not so much because of the munching, but more the wee.
I really wouldn’t do artificial grass. They will try anything and chewing on it, can’t be good.

Show us some pictures when you get your fluff babies!