kalikoo

Hi Slighty Nervous New Member

Hi Everyone,

Got my Eglu and girls (Scarlet & Honey) two days ago. I am a complete novice and I'm feeling a bit nervous. I have been constantly checking to see if they are ok, I seem to have turned into mother hen overnight.

The girls seem fine but my normally well behaved collie has become obssessed with them which is a worry and I hope she'll settle soon, any advice for their first face to face meeting would be appreciated.

Yesterday the girls hardly came out of the eglu which was understandable cos it was raining all day and I know they hate rain but today is dry and they still seem to want to stay inside is this normal?

(green eglu)

GNR Scarlet

PP Honey

Hi Kalikoo, welcome. Don't worry about being nervous we have all been there and it is normal to fuss a bit at first. Just about anything you could ask has probalbly been covered here somewhere get yourself comfy for a good read and if there is anything else just ask there is usually someone who can give an answer. As for the collie I have a chicken obsessed cat check the pics in the chooks from the north album he is so comical and now the girls are used to him they ignore him and even try to peck at him so they will be okay. There are a few topics on chickens and dogs and hopefully one of the moderators will do you some fast links :lol: Keep us posted and join in the fun

Hello Kalikoo, welcome to the forum. :D

I was nervous at first but, 10 weeks later, they are just as much fun but I do feel more confident.

As Louise says, reading up in previous topics is very helpful (and interesting). I have learned so much through this forum & everyone is so friendly, so its good to know whatever you experience with your chooks, someone has prob. already been there! 8)