esther

Strange Neck Movements - Related to Sour Crop?

I am new to chickens since February and so would appreciate any help at all.

One of my chooks has been doing strange movements for about 8 days now. The movements involve her head, neck and chest, and are quite jerky. It is as though she is trying to move the base of her neck in circles, or sometimes just up and down, or side to side. I thought it might be a way for her to rearrange her crop - it first started after she ate quite a lot of leftover rice in one go, and her crop became quite swollen. But the movements continued even when her crop got smaller again.

Then about three days ago we realised that she probably had sour crop. Her crop had got very big again and was squishy. I had tried to smell her breath, but was only able to detect a faintly bad smell. So on Monday evening we turned her upside down and gently massaged her crop - loads of nasty liquid came out. We then gave her some live yoghurt - she ate about 3 desert spoons of it. On Tuesday (yesterday) she looked a bit better, but was still doing the strange movements, so we tried to make her vomit again (both in the morning and in the evening), but nothing came out. We gave her more yogurt anyway. After the yogurt she started to shake a bit - like she was shivering. I have never seen her do that before, and she didn't do it again for the rest of the evening.

Today she looked very swollen again, but otherwise fine, but I didn't have time this morning to try to make her vomit.

Overall in the last few days she has had very few other symptoms - she is still laying, preening, still eating and drinking, and her poos look fine. Her eyes are still bright and she has no discharge. She is mostly alert, although sometimes very briefly a bit lethargic, and then fine again.

There seemed to be more strange neck movements than normal yesterday, it's as though they are getting worse. Are the movements related to the sour crop?