Murdo

Courgettes

I was starting an entire mini thread over in the 'my harvest' topic all on my own, so I thought I'd pull it together here.

Someone asked for good beginners plants. I think courgettes qualify since once they get past sluggable size they grow quickly and easily.Plus they produce such good crops, and just keep producing them, over several weeks. Two or three courgette plants gives us enough to get through a summer.

Not really a square foot plant though. They can grow pretty huge. (But see my question below.

I'm no expert on varieties, but as well as the normal green ones you see in the shops you can get yellow ones and (I think) black. Mixed packs of seeds are available (and for me a pack usually does several years. I've only once had a germination problem, and the seeds were about five years old by then.)

The yellow ones develop on the plant more slowly than the green ones. This can be useful as if you go away at the wrong time you can come back to find that in the week you're away those tender little stubs have turned into marrow sized monsters, and it's vegetable curry for a week.

Start them in pots. You're supposed to put two seeds in and discard the weaker seedling, although I've always found they can usually all make perfectly good plants. Once they get a couple of leaves on them plant them out. If you can stave off the slugs for the first couple of weeks then they reach a point where they're just to big to be slugged. By the time I plant out they're big enough to take a single attack, and then the next night I go out and pick off all the slugs that have come back for seconds. Repeated two or three times it seems to work.

And the reason I started this was to post a question for the several other courgette growers out there.