Hi there,

I'm sorry for bringing up the subject of foxes again, I am new to chicken keeping and this forum, and have only had my chooks for 4 days. However it only took 1 day for the fox to discover their whereabouts. Since then every night, and I think all night, the fox has been trying to get into their (green eglu) . They must be terrified, and tonight were very reluctant to go to bed, I think they know whats in store.. In desperation I have ordered a foxwatch which will hopefully arrive soon. But I was just wondering if the fox will eventually give up if it finds that it cant get into the eglu (hopefully!)? I really would appreciate and advice, help on anything else we can do, as now it knows they are there, it wont leave them alone, even though I sent my 2 dogs out to it last night.. I'm feeling really guilty about how awfull it must be for them to be so close to a fox trying to get to them. :(

I don't have a Foxwatch but I'm sure it will help.

I'm sure you do anyway, but make sure you shut the eglu door at night if you know there is a fox around then he can't get at them at night. I shut my girls in at dark and open the eglu door at 7.30am (but more due to noise for me rather than foxes).

What about electric fencing. The Omlet netting can be electrified (but you need to buy the electrification kit on top of the fencing cost). There are some posts on this forum somewhere about how to do it.

Just wanted to mention elec fencing just in case you were not aware of it. But as I don't have either, I'm not the best person to give advice on which is best.

There will be lots of forum members with fox watch and/or elec fencing who I'm sure will pick up on this post in the next few days and share their experiences (and costs......).

I would think once Mr Fox has found you he's not likely to give up.

Sure you've seen it, but just in case, there's a fox bit in FAQ.

viewtopic.php?f=42&t=235