Cats and Chickens

Anyone using the Qute successfully for a Hamster

Interested to know peoples experiences with the Qute for hamsters.Are they coping with the tube? Bought a Qute for my son's Christmas but bit worried by adverse stuff about the wire floor and tube and size. Our hamster became ill 5 days after moving to the Qute and sadly passed away on Tuesday this week after 17 days of illness. Feeling really awful as it hasn't been a great Christmas present and nursing the hamster has been very upsetting. Asked Omlet on 10th January what testing etc they had done with hamsters and were they sure that it was suitable for hamsters? I am still waiting for them to get back to me. Would really like to hear form others who might have had more positive experiences.

So sorry to hear that you lost your hamster. There is a little bit of a thread running Here that you may have seen. I have no first hand experience of the Qute and have heard very little about it in terms of how people are finding it. I do however have concerns about the fact that food and water are available only if the pet travels up the tube. Whilst you can put a bowl of food on the bottom level amongst the bedding :? there doesn't look like there is any way of attaching a water bottle. (Someone also mentioned the concern that a child might lock the tube for cleaning and then forget unlock it preventing the hamster access to the top level). Hamsters should be able to negotiate the tube perfectly well (unless ill) but I think that people do need to ensure that they are using the tube when they are first introduced to the house - if not, alternative food and drink on the bottom level should be provided - or they should be encouraged to use the top level. I still think that whilst it looks rather smart, it does lack in interactive space for the pets.