smartrus

My ducklings are too attached to me!!

I am new to duck keeping and have already have chickens. We have now got 3 apple yard ducks who are just getting their adult flight feathers. They were reared by a family and are very friendly, well, here lies the problem!! When we are outside with them they are lovely, they happily peep and potter. But when we go inside, they run to the back door and continuously quack LOUDLY until we return, I am worried about complaints from neighbours. Any advice appreciated, they are lovely and we don't really want to get rid of them, when does the imprinting stop and when will they go off happily without us!!!!! Thanks for any help! xx

HI. its all become too much, they are very LOUD! We have now relocated the ducks to the back of the garden where the chickens live! They have their house, food, water, and they are quacking like mad! At least we cant hear them so much, and don't feel so bad for the neighbours but they are still noisy! Any advice welcome!

I would think that if they are quacking because they are imprinted then this would stop after a few days away from you, but I suspect it might be for food. So the only advice I can give is to make sure you don't 'reward' them by giving them treats when they quack, even if that usually shuts them up. You'll probably have to be firm for a day or two, giving them treats only when they are quiet, but you'll win out in the end and if a neighbour complains you can explain that you have it in hand and all will shortly be well as you are training them.