Happy Mrs Chicken

Don't have much luck with chooks

Got 4 new chooks in april and 2 have already died.Lost Grace last week she was ok in the morning then found her dead in the coop I think she died whilst trying to lay.I found Hetty dead this morning,she had been off her food for a couple of days.They have been wormed and have no mites etc.I've been keeping chickens for 2 years and 6 have died out of 10. I think the longest one lived for 18 months. I feel more like sad mrs chicken than happy mrs chicken at the moment. :(

Sorry to hear about the loss of your chickens.

Hybrids do live shorter lives than pure breeds. I have found that with my hybrids the ones that lay the most seem to have the shortest lives, it seems as if the breeding that gives us lots of eggs doesn't mean a long life.

Latte who is the only one of my originals still lays sometimes and throughout her 5 years she has had periods where she has laid and then periods where she has rested. Which I feel helps to give them a longer life but that is just my thoughts :wink:

Chrissie

Maybe you need to think about where you got your birds? I feel lucky that my 3 hybrids are very healthy, i use no tonics or DE etc but they have no mites, illnesses and they lay one egg a day...but that's got to be down to luck and good genes I think. So I have to thank my breeder!

Xx

So sorry to hear about all of your troubles - I can understand the way you feel after everything you've gone through.

I think you've had some great advice above, maybe think about pure breeds, or even where you buy your hens from?