Mrs Frugal

Dogs and chickens

Do dogs and chickens mix?

Positive experiences

I have no experience with spaniels but we have 2 dogs, one of which is a shar pei and they are both fine with our girls....At first they were very curious about them and did want to sniff and chase them a little, but now I have full confidence with them........

Maybe someone else on here will have more expereince with spaniels.....

Hi, my three chickens arrived 3 weeks ago and my terrier is great with them. They are behind netting now and I did follow a desensitising procedure, which I'm sure was the key. I let him sniff at them when they were confined to the run for the first 5 days and this also meant the girls got used to him rushing around them. Then he was on a lead when they were out, with a sharp tug from me if he got overexcited, lots of praise, etc. Then I put up the netting and took him out on the lead again, then the muzzle, then took the muzzle off. He is my first dog, so if I can do it successfully I'm sure others with more experience can.

One of them flew over the netting the other day when the dog was out too. My heart was in my mouth when I saw it from the kitchen. I was putting my 2 year old in his high chair at the time so I couldn't rush out to intervene straight away. I was hugely relieved to see the dog get very excited, chase a bit when she flapped, then stop and sniff her. This happened a few times as I tried to catch her. I was worried he might chase and trample on them at the very least, even if he did not bite. However he was very careful around her and never showed any aggression, just lots of tail wagging.

I think the fact that the omlet chickens are a very good size really helps - they are more like small dogs to him than prey. Unfortunately he does like to put his nose through the netting to eat the chicken poo, which is disgusting as he then spends the evening farting and guess what it smells like....

we have huge hairy german shepherd with big teeth