cloud

Wheezy young hen

One of our new hens has developed a cough and is a little wheezy and snotty after we brought her home yesterday. I can't hear any crackle from her chest when I press my ear against her back, just her little heartbeat and some crackles/gurgles from her throat/nose.

She is clearly under the weather as she's now not eating much, although drinking a little. We have given her some poultry tonic via a pipette and popped her in a shoebox where she's been snoozing for a little while. Now starting to look a little more alert and fidgety but no great desire to leave the box.

Now I'm unsure what to do next. Should we pop her back with the other two new hens, one of which has been a little beastly and pecks her from time to time, in the hope she recovers by herself and she needs to be bonding with the other hens. Or do we isolate her tonight and get her to the vet tomorrow and then have the problem of re-introducing her to the the other hens?

I'm no expert, but if she were mine I'd take her to the vet tomorrow.

I always tell myself that I am no vet and that they would be able to tell me that they are fine which is what I'd rather hear.

She may have a chest infection, in which case the vet would give her antibiotics.

Sometimes they give you medicine that they can all have and therefore you wouldn't need to separate her, other times they give the hen individual medicine and she can still stay in the group. It really does depend what she has.

I'm sure someone else may give more advice but let us know how you get on.

Luvachicken, I'm thinking the same about the vet giving me a more accurate diagnosis. I'm just worried I'm overreacting and a trip to the vet will add lots more stress which could have been the trigger for the problem to start with.