SueBevan

Extreme Temperature Jacket for the Eglu Cube?

I am relatively new to chicken keeping having only had my four adorable girls since June of this year. So far they have lived very happily and comfortably in their Eglu Cube and Walk in Run. I am now thinking about winter preparation.

I live in rural Shropshire where the overnight temperature can drop quite low - certainly into minus figures - so I am wondering whether I should purchase an extreme temperature jacket for my Eglu Cube to protect my girls. I have just one concern about the jacket : whether or not it allows sufficient ventilation. My reference books and a course I went on before starting to keep chickens all tell me that adequate ventilation is essential for the health of chickens and is probably more important than temperature. My girls seem to sleep in a 'chicken heap' on the roosting bars and they generate quite a lot of body heat and therefore moisture. Can anyone who has used the extreme temperature jacket on an Eglu Cube reassure me that it allows sufficient ventilation, please?

Many thanks.

Sue B.

I haven't used one SueBevan, but though I'd add my concerns about ventilation. Condensation on plastic can be a breeding ground for black mould spores, which leads to some severe respiratory infections based on my experience. Something you need to be checking on in the colder weather anyway. A morning wipe over the upper inside surfaces will tell you if there is a problem. We used to switch from wood shavings to Aubiose bedding in Winter as it is very dry, but found it too dusty in Summer.

I doubt Shropshire will be too cold for them if they all huddle together and are not in a draught.

I have a Snugglesafe to chuck in with The Weeds when it is forecast to gets really cold, less than about minus 5. I think I just worry too much though as I know of people with Eglu's that leave the pop hole open all year so the hens can come and go as they please.