LAB

Run set up against a building?

Hello! I'm totally new to the chicken world! I've been reading and researching for several months and am about to hit the order button on a cube and walk in run for 6 chickens. I live in the Rocky Mountains and up on a foothill area. We get lots of snow and wind. The way the wind drifts the snow away from the house, the logical place for my chickens would be under 6 feet of snow in the winter. Against the house, and protected from the porch, gets next to no snow. So I'm wondering, can I not put the skirt on the run and slide it right up to the house on that one side? I am planning on zip tying hardware cloth on the bottom on the run (to keep out the ground digging animals) and probably using sand to cover it. We get snow, but very little rain and no humidity. It seems like it would work. Then the cube would be at the bottom of the stairs and not too much shoveling to get to the chickens to care for them in bad weather. Plus I have an outside outlet right there for a way to keep water from freezing. I'm a lot tight on space as we have a large swingset structure on that side of the backyard for the kids. I wasn't planning on chickens when we bought the house and planned the layout of the backyard! Now I'm trying to squeeze them in!

Squeezing in chickens is what we do best here!

I would reconsider ziptying the cloth to the bottom of the run. Chickens dig and not sure if it will hold up or one will get caught in the cloth. Also doesn't sound like it will be easy to clean/muck out.

A good alternative is placing your run on (congrete) slabs. It will prevent anything from digging their way in and you can hose it down, if necessary.

I actually dug a few tiles in the ground and covered it with dirt. My tiles do not meet and let water (and worms) through, but it isn't a predator resistent measure.

Not sure about not attaching to skirting. Is there any way you could anchor the run to the house?