Tied83

Egg peritonitis in 2 chickens only 1 left

Hello,

I'm new to both chicken keeping and this forum so please be kind!

We recently rehomed 3 hybrid hens, these are not ex battery but were on a small holding type place, free range in a large enclosure.

All seemed fine for first few weeks, then one had runny poo, I thought at first it was due to perhaps being a bit greedy, a couple of days later the poo was still runny and she seemed quiet and standing in a weird way, I took her to the vet who said she had advanced egg peritonitis. We had a chat and I made the awful decision to put her to sleep as she had really gone downhill in such a short space of time. Fast forward to yesterday and I noticed another hen was looking the exact same way so off to the vets as soon as I saw her dirty vent area, the vet also said it was egg peritonitis and again she was put to sleep.

I made my way home to a lone chicken who greated me like a dog at the gate, I lost heart and decided I didn't want anymore chickens and decided I would rehome last hen to my in laws who have 5 hens and a huge garden to live out her days in. I thought I would double check with vet to make sure this was sensible and they said although egg peritonitis isn't contagious the underlying cause may well be but they couldn't tell me without a post mortem on the other hen, I agreed to this thinking it would be peace of mind all round. 

Unfortunately it seemed that the hen had already been sent off for cremation before my approval had made it to them so I now don't have that option.

I guess my long winded message is to ask what do I do? Do I keep a chicken on her own which goes against her and my instincts? Re-home her without knowing the full story to my in laws? The only other option the vet said was to put her down too but at present she seems very happy and healthy?

Has anyone else been in this situation or can offer and guidance?

It would be much appreciated.