J Lawrence

Sour crop

Hi, I am hoping someone can help. 

I am new to keeping chickens I have 4 which I have had for a couple of months.  I am fairly sure one has sour crop. 

I followed advice on the Internet and separated her from the others in a dog crate with out food or water yesterday and early this morning when I went to check on her and massage her crop again some smelly liquid came out of her mouth so I tipped her forward a  little so she could get rid of it. 

I have kept checking on her every hour but I am having trouble finding a vet that will see her and I am not sure what to do next.

Thank you for any advice you can give. 

It sounds like you’re doing the right thing. 

Let her have water and after a maximum of 48 hours some pellets too.

There are lots of posts on here about sour crop so have a trawl through. 

If you let us know where you are there may be someone who can suggest a nearby vet.

Not really, I made the mistake of giving her a small amount of food this morning which she did not eat much of but her crop has gone ballooney again and I have just had to help her get rid of more liquid by tipping her forward a little and massage her crop. 

Just keep her on water and massage the crop gently as often as possible. There are two reasons for a sour crop. The usual one is too much food taken in before drinking and then going to bed. It results in a solid lump of undigested food in the crop which rots and goes sour and can be removed with water and massaging. The second is a digestive impaction. This can be from eating indigestible material, so anything from cigarette ends to large fruit stones or long grass. The second is very rarely resolved, although we have managed to twice clear some cherry stones after starvation and forced mobility.

Good luck.

I’m sorry to hear this.