Steph101

Black rock unwell

Maureen, one of our black rocks, who is at the bottom of the pecking order,

Looks unwell this morning. I first noticed her just standing in the run with her head tucked under her wing – not much unusual there.

But it carried on for a couple of hours, so I decided to have a closer look.

Then I noticed she kept closing her eye; she seems to have white patches/marks around the lid area. Any ideas what this could be?

She’s definitely not herself. :cry:

Hope you can help.

Many thanks everyone

Stephanie.

I have no experience of poorly hens so am just clutching at straws, but could she have lice? Found this on google:

• Lice: Symptoms: White build up around the feather base near the vent, in a bad case there could be a build up on feathers as well. The whiteness is lice eggs. If you do find lice eggs around the vent when checking the chicken's health, brush them off and rub vaseline around the area, (sulphur ointment is better than killing lice if the problem persists). To prevent this, dust the nestbox with louse powder every week or so. Don't panic, they will not spread to you or other animals!

Well, she's been eating and drinking. I brought her into the house and washed her bottom, and just let her sit there in the tea tree scented foam for a while witha towel round her neck; she seemed to enjoy it. I then towelled her off, then got the hair dryer round her vent, and gave her a dusting of diatom. I bathed her eyes with some citricidal in warm water, changed their feed and drink, and popped some tonic stuff into their water.