Guest Trishchickson

Just ordered my Eglu

Hello everyone,

This seems such a happy forum, I'm getting my Eglu in a couple of weeks, and I'm a real novice. We have two Golden Retrievers under a year old, and i am wondering how they will all get on. Also we do feed wild birds, and i have read wild birds can spread disease. Can any one advise me on this? Also i was thinking of getting some battery hens, but not sure if this is a good idea for a novice, or where to find them. :D

Hello and welcome.

Don't worry too much about garden birds. You can't keep them and chickens apart, no matter how hard you try! If you worm your chickens regularly, you shouldn't have any problems. I do mine every 6 months and also check them over for mites and lice regularly and they're fine!

As for battery hens, try checking out www.thehenshouse.co.uk where they rescue ex-batteries. They are spreading out over the country so you might find someone near you.

Hi

If you search the forum while you are waiting for your eggciting event, you'll find some info about dogs and hens. The search button on the top bar is very good. I wouldn't anticipate major problems with golden retrievers, terriers and alsations seem to have been most keen to have live dinners, but there is advice on introducing them gradually and never letting them all be alone together until you are 100% certain of what your dogs will do.