Becka

Terrible tomatoes!

Oh dear! This is my first attempt at growing anything edible and I'm very disheartened. I am growing two tomato plants in my porch. They are in containers that I water regularly and use tomato fertaliser in accordance with the packet instructions. So far so good! They have grown well and I have taken the growing tips out to encourage them to fruit. Each plant has one fruit on it and a number of flowers that have died back but don't seem to be producing any more tomatoes. What am I doing wrong and is there anything that I need to do to encourage the tomatoes to grow?

It's been a funny year this year, hot then cold then hot then cold again. Tomatoes need a bit of consistency that, outside of a greenhouse, they don't get. You might find, with some patience, that by September they will be fruiting well, my indoor ones are fruiting like crazy, but the outdoor ones are only flowering - keep trying!

Green tomato chutney is fab...if they don't ripen before they all give up the ghost and drop off!!

A colleague at work ripens his by putting them in a drawer with a banana. Bananas emit something (ethylene I think) which causes other things to ripen, as you'll know if you've left anything too long in the fruit bowl with one.

I haven't tried it yet but will report back if my tomatoes stay green again this year.

Well, you learn something everyday. I never knew a banana encouraged other friut to ripen. I'm also eating nearly gone off fruit from the fruitbowl, and could never understand why they had ripened so quickly.

All makes sense now :roll:

Good luck with those tommies Becka