ringworm24

What and where to put food

Hi,

I have recently taken ownership of 3 hens (Light sussex, rhode island red and Welsh summer), I have a few concerns.

1) I am only feeding them laying pellets. About 1 ½ handful each per day, with an extra couple of handfuls of kale. I have since heard lots of people mixing there pellets up what should I be doing? Really looking for some exact guidelines

2) I have the water and food in the hutch – should it be in the run if so what will they snack and drink at night?

Many thanks

Hi There,

I am no expert, but layers pellets are fine, I dont mix mine with anything but I usually give mine some corn in the afternoon, and sometimes some grapes and mealworms for a treat!

I leave the food in the run area. chickens dont eat or drink during the night, so no need to leave in the bedroom area.

Have fun with your chooks! :D

The food needs to be given in a feeder in the run, fill it and let them take what they need then refill as necessary, hens will rarely over-eat when it comes to pellets and an adult hen will consume about 100g-150g of feed a day so as long as the feeder is big enough to take that x the amount of hens you have it will be fine. You can take the food in to your house/garage or put it up high overnight if you are worried about rodents

Layers pellets are fine, you can mush them with some warm water as a treat in winter

Water also in the run, again ad lib, empty completely and clean out at least once a week