The Girls

Beware of the Eglo Go Door

Hi there, I am new to chicken keeping. But would like to make others VERY aware of a design flaw in the Eglu Go. To cut a long story short, 10 days ago a fox managed to get into our Go via the back door, after furious paddling he managed to twist the black k"Ooops, word censored!". As you can imagine all our girls were killed much to our horror.

I have to say Omlet have been very good about it and I am happy to say that a lovely new Classic has been set up in our garden today curteousy of Omlet. We are much a happier with this and cannot get over the differnce in design and just how much better the security is of this one.

However I am still filled with horror at the thought of others buying the GO and the same thing happening. I would be so happy to find that Omlet were going to change the design in the back door/k"Ooops, word censored!". Clearly it needs to be changed to one that is on the Classic.

Please be very careful with these.

They are not fox proof at all.

We await our new girls at the next ex battery rescue.

How awful, I'm sorry to hear that. I'm really surprised too, because I have quite a struggle to open my Go at the back.

I think you will be much happier with the Classic, it is a much better design and quality than the Go in my opinion.

Good luck with your new girls.

Really sorry to hear this, it must have been a terrible shock. I don't own a Go, but I do know that Omlet's products are all designed to avoid exactly this thing happening - the Classic door, the eggport etc are all made so that you need opposable thumbs to be able to open them, and I have always assumed the Go is the same. The fox must have been very persistent. :(

I hope you'll enjoy your Classic, glad to hear that Omlet were able to help resolve this. I haven't heard of this happening before, but it's a useful warning for anyone who owns a Go.