Julia_305

Ducks in with chickens question about food

Hi there

I wonder if anyone can help me. I'm new to ducks and chicks and got my flock about 4 weeks ago they are all about 5 weeks old. 2 ducklings and 4 chicks. I took the advice of the pet shop about food etc and they advised chick crumb but i've been researching and now i find out that its bad for ducklings and i'm even more concerned because my two when they stand still they sometimes flop down. They seem very very happy - running up and down the garden and coming into the kitchen to see if they can grab the cat's food, they are mealworm crazy etc. The trouble is, as they all live together i'm not sure how to approach this problem now. Does anyone have any ideas? I might have to segregate them and buy a new coop for the ducks. Or is it OK to give them the unmedicated chick crumb? But then what to feed the chicks....

I would really appreciate any advice here as i'm now worried about them

Thank you everybody

Hi Julia just in case an expert does'nt pop on here for a while. It's not as busy as chickens. I am planning on ducks and have got a book so I looked to see their advice. They suggest it is much better to buy formulated duck feed but they can have chicken pellets. I don't know if duck pellets are harder to find but if you have chicken pellets could you bash them done to same size as crumb.

Not sure about when they are so young as initially kept mine separate but now I have three call ducks with 18 bantams, the ducks have their own house within the walk in run and they also free range together.

I use Fancy Feeds pellets which advertise on the bag that they are suitable for both ducks and bantams, the pellets are smaller than usual.

I did try using different foods but they all are each other's so feel this is a good compromise and they are all well.