AyeAyeMagpie

Advice on vent please?

Hello, hoping some more experienced chicken keepers will be able to advise on my chicken Rosie's vent. I've noticed that her bum feathers have been looking a bit unkempt and mucky over the last week so I brought her in this afternoon for a wash and to take a closer look. She's lost a lot of feathers on her bum and it just doesn't look quite right. Do you think this is a fungal infection? I don't really know what I'm looking at.

20190106_154427_zps0ckknu2f.jpg

20190106_154440_zpsvzu8op01.jpg

And one of Rosie just for a giggle (it looks like I've plugged her in to charge up) ...

20190106_154744_zpspva73plh.jpg

Not that I've noticed and I've spent a lot of time with them this week, but it could be happening in the coop before I let them out. The flock dynamic seems settled. Could it also be moulting? But what about the fuzzy mounds at the base of some feathers - does that look fungal? I'm such a complete novice at this I really haven't a clue.

I’m no expert but it looks like it could be lice eggs attached to the base of her feathers, if you do a search on the forum you should find more information and pictures. 

Check her over for tiny grey/brown lice on her skin.   If you find any she will need treating with a lice treatment product.

I’m sure someone with more experience will come along shortly.

Looks like lice eggs to me as well. Not particularly harmful but should be treated immediately. I'd trim off the feathers that have eggs on, because they can't be washed off and will hatch. We use an unlicensed dog and cat product so I won't mention it. You can dust them with Barrier lice powder, but that doesn't kill the eggs.