NatalieC90

Tips for bringing chicks home

We are rehoming 4 chicks that have been hatched via a hatching programme at our daughter's nursery. They are a mix of cream legbars and gingernut rangers. The chicks are currently staying at nursery in their brooder until they are fully feathered and ready to come home. We have the Eglu Go Up and a walk in run set up ready for when they come home. We are so excited! We haven't had chickens before so we are complete newbies. I used to look after the school chickens when I was a teacher a few years ago, but never brought them home.

What are your top tips for getting the girls settled in at their new home? What do you wish you had known when you first brought your chicks home that you know now?

Thanks in advance!!

I would pop them in the Go Up when you get them, with the door open into the run, so that they might know where to go to bed later once they have come out.

Make sure they have plenty of food and water.

Leave them to investigate their new home - they will come out eventually.

You will need to leave them to get to know where their surroundings are for about a week - then you can let them potter round the garden.

Obviously spend time in their run and handle them when you can.

You won't get much done when you first start watching them - make sure you have lots of cups of tea and a comfy chair.

I think one of the things people are most shocked about is the amount of poop.

Keeping chickens is a bit like learning as you go along.

I've had chickens 12 years now and still needed advice yesterday.

Lots of us on here like seeing photos so post some when you get your chicks :wink:

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hello @Luvachicken

Thanks so much for your detailed response!