Laura007

tomato's

You can do this, but the problem is that tomato plants need feeding twice a week while fruiting (especially when turning their colour) and liquid feed is used as it goes straight to the roots, where the chick-poo is not in a state where it feeds the roots fast enough to help the plant. The other problem is that it will encourage the plant to grow, rather than help the tomatoes turn red, which is what the seaweed and related liquid feeds do.

That's what I have found, hope it helps,

I'm an amateur at this veggie lark so got a bit carried away with nurturing my cordon toms. The ones in the greenhouse are magnificent specimens - 5ft tall with large dark green leaves and in the picture of health - only problem is virtually nothing in the way of fruit :? . Suspect they have been coddled far too much and next year I will be a lot tougher on them. Some of the books even suggest bending/breaking or removing some of the leaves to force the plant into a massive 'pass on the genes to the next generation' effort at producing load of toms if the plant thinks it is a goner.

However the outdoor bush toms are doing better and I am putting baked, ground banana skins on the soil to give them lots of potassium.

However the outdoor bush toms are doing better and I am putting baked, ground banana skins on the soil to give them lots of potassium.

Well - you learn something new every day :shock: I'd never heard of that Jane - I obviously haven't read the Lazy Gardener properly I expect? :?

It might be in the Lazy Vegetable Grower, or Gardening Secrets that Time forgot or on John Yeoman's Gardening Guild website - some of which is subscribers only but I got an early birthday present :lol::lol: I also get newsletters from John so it could have been in one of those.

LSOH is getting a tad fed up of my repeating 'John says.......' several times a day :oops: