Julieann

Puppy blues

Hi everyone, I got my lovely 3 chickens almost 6 weeks ago with not an egg in sight as yet. I have a new problem however that my 14 week old pup has suddenly started taking a very barking fuelled interest in the poor chooks and has even started ramming over the chicken netting to sit in their area and bark at them furiously. Its real got me down though its only been twice but that being last night and this morning. Any ideas gratefully received. :(

i'm no dog expert but i think with puppies socalisation is the key, and the more used to things they are the better - and they get bored of it too. you could maybe try encouraging the puppy to be around the chickens a lot (reverse phsycology????). Also, they can learn things from a few weeks old. If you stay with the pup and reward with a treat every time she STOPS barking she may get the idea.

I think with the chickens its best to treat life as normal and they will accept it - a few days of a barking pup and as long as it doesn't hurt them i'm sure they will ignore it.

perhaps in these cases we are our own worst enemy and cause more stress to the animals than they would have if we let them 'get on with it'.

let us know how it goes...it could help someone else to know (and i'm a nosey pants)

What sort of puppy do you have Julieann??

we had our hens when we got our GSd Flint and think the thing is start as you mean to go on but some dogs are definitely easier to teach than others!. With Flint we kept him on a lead whilst the hens were out and a firm no everytime he showed interest seemed to work , I know others have had to resort to slightly firmer methods , I think one that has worked well is a water pistol in the face accompained bby a firm no, I'm sure someone else had a try with a citronella collar but can't remember who .