Tammy27

Chicken advice please

Hello,

I impulsively bought my two chickens last week then ordered and eglu, then a neighbour said that the house deeds say no poultry, I checked and it does, I am going to pretend I don't have the deeds anymore! I rang my local council and they say fine nice idea no problem if any complaints they would be told the same. What should I do, keep my head down or cancel the eglu and return the chickens???

Also one of them makes quite a racket when trying to lay, is she having problems, someone said feed boiled egg shells to help stop them being egg bound???

I'm new to all this and the kids love it :D

Hi Tammy!

Welcome to the wonderful world of chickens! Addictive aren't they?

I would be tempted to keep your head down. If you are on speaking terms with your neighbours, I would also recommend a little "present" of some eggs. They will not mind you having them in the slightest afterwards adn will be unlikely to complain!

If you go to the section on eggs, there is loads of info in there about whether to feed supplements for soft shelled egg layers, but the chances are your girls are just getting into the swing of it, and all will be fine!

Good luck and do keep us posted!

I looked at the deed issue too in preparpation for busy bodies and it wasnt that clear anyway and if the council say its fine thats fine. Most people have mortgages anyway so the deeds are in effect owned by the building society, so unless they complain again (I am assuming you may have a mortgage(or not??) but just tell them the mortgage company own your house , then she wont know who you are mortgaged with anyway.

Thats only if they start again. I think if most people start digging into their deeds and covenants etc there are many old restrictions

I have a big pond(listed as a moat) and if anyone in our village wanted to water their animals they could technically do it! But it was put on many years ago.