martinjhall

Received my Beehaus.

:clap:

I received my green Beehaus on Thursday, put it together on Sunday, a few bits missing but i am sure Omlet will put this right. I am setting it up in my Urban garden North of Bristol. I now eagerly await the bees (ordered for early next year). I have joined my local BKA but it seems that urban bees are not the norm.

I would be grateful for information from others who keep bees on a housing estate.

They will give my wife’s chickens something to think about rather than ripping the garden up any more.

Martin :clap:

Congratulations, Martin and welcome to the forum.

I would say around half of the bee-keepers in my local group keep them in urban settings. I'm not on a housing estate as most people would understand it, but it's a residential area with most houses built in the 1930s, luckily I have a 100' garden so they are well away from anyone else.

I'm a novice too, got mine in July although they're not in a Beehaus, however from what I have read urban bees often do better than rural ones in terms of foraging opportunities.

Welcome to the world of bees Martin :clap: ... I can't comment on the urban style of beekeeping given that we live in the middle of a field :anxious: ...........I just know they are fascinating little creatures and could sit outside & watch them for hours :roll:

BTW, I doubt the chooks will take much notice of the bees, there's plenty of easier "prey" like flowers, veggies, grass...........just position their flight path away from the chooks to avoid any unpleasantness.

I wish you were closer, I'd love to have a look at a beehaus in person :roll:

Sha x

Oh I like to hear of newbie beekeepers(as I one day will become one if OH lets me)

My grandmothers neighbour kept them in North London residential back garden for years and he had about 3 hives! Also my secondary school the hives were kept quite near a main road!!!