little Red Hen

Eglu & chicks arrived!!!

Took delivery of a green eglu + 2 chicks yesterday. So far so good. Seem to be settling in ok and have been putting themselves to bed ok. Dog doesn't seem too bothered by them. Quite a few squidgy poos but by reading other peoples posts, this is to be be expected in the first few days. Glad I ordered a spare set of roosting bars as I quckly swapped over the dirty for the clean before work. Not sure if the the chicks may have mites as they arrived with white powder/dried liquid over them? Is it standard for Omlet to give them a quick powdering before delivery? I have tried to examine them but as I'm a novice , just holding them is a bit tricky let alone trying to examine under their wings and vent! Maybe Omlet do just powder them ?

Hi little red hen. Can't answer about omlet hens as mine are from elsewhere but I am just down the road from you outside Haslemere so howdy neighbour 8) If you fancy a cup of tea and a chickie chat you'd be very welcome....

Good luckwith everything

Rhapsody

:D:D:D

Hi Little Red Hen and welcome to the forum!

If you are even slightly concerned, give Omlet a quick ring - they'll be able to put your mind at ease, and confirm if the chooks were given a quick dusting before delivery.

Congrats on the new arrivals.

I just ordered my Eglu, but I will have to sorce the chooks locally (outside delivery area).

I'll soon be part of the flock too.

Hi & welcome.

I ordered spare roosting bars to come with my new eglu a few weeks ago. Great idea.

I scrubbed the bars every other day as they did so much poo. I wondered if I was set for a life of bar scrubbing. But now we are not wallowing in poo, and my daily lawn inspection is getting easier. There is hope......

Congrats on the new arrivals.