daisymay

mark 1 vs mark 2 AND cats with chickens

Hi

I've got the opportunity of getting a mark 1 edlu (from jan 2005) rather than trying to get a mark 2 from ebay etc for significantly more money. I'm new to the whole chickens thing and just wondered what you thought about the mark 1 vs the mark 2 version? Is there much difference between them or are the differences not significant really. I've read the section in frequently asked questions but was hoping to hear from a seasoned eglu owner! I'm planning to get 3 chickens and to allow them to free range for part of most days (when I'm about).

Also i have a cat. Does anyone have/had problems when introducing chickens to cats

Thanks very much

Mk 1 is only recommended for 2 chickens, the roosting bars come in more bits (some individual bars), the door is smaller and I think less ventiallation holes.

On ebay they do not seem to go for much less than mk2s, so if you can get a mk1 cheap then I would go for it with a couple of hens - if you then decided you like keeping chickens (who wouldn't?) you could always sell it on e-bay and up grade to a mk 2 or a cube in the future.

Tracy

Can't answer the question about the Mk1 v Mk2, but I don't think you will have a problem with the cat. Mine is also scared of them, with good reason! The cat will either ignore them or show an unhealthy interest (they are birds, after all!) However in my experience, one attempt was met with so much flapping and squawking, that he has never tried again. They are quite big birds when they stretch their wings out!

If you can get a Mark 1 cheap, get it. You will be able to resell it one day at the same price.

But if the difference in price is less than £50, get a Mark 2, because you won't want to stop at two chickens -- to my knowledge, no one on this forum has managed this feat for more than a year. The Mark 2 is bigger and holds four chickens.

As Gallina says - not many have been able to stop at two chickens..... :lol: