madamecholet

Hi, advice needed Doris is poorly

Hi everyone

I'm quite new to this but here goes - We adopted Hattie and Doris last August from a farmer friend. Not sure how old they are but have been laying well ever since, 2 eggs a day most days. Lately however we've only been getting 1 egg a day and not sure whose.

Anyway Doris has been off colour since last Friday, her tails down and she's a bit hunched up. Saturday we found the remains of an egg with a shell, what there was of it, like tissue paper so put Doris's malaise down to this, Sunday she perked up but yesterday she was still looking very sorry for herself and this morning she was very reluctant to come out of the nest area. There was another very thin shelled egg in the nest box.

I've bought her in and given her a warm bath as her bottom was a bit dirty . Offered her some cooked mashed up potato and peas with some cooked noodles (one of her favourites) and she ate with enthusiasm. Got some water into her with a syringe just to be on the safe side and she's now in the dining room in a box with some food and water. They are both wormed regularly and have no signs of mite etc.

Is there anything further I can do for Doris, I do hate to see her looking so miserable. :(:(

Very sorry to hear Doris is not well although it's good that she's eating and drinking okay.

Soft shelled eggs can make them feel very poorly for a while. Has she got access to oyster shell grit?

It may be worth supplementing her food with some limestone flour to make sure she gets extra calcium which will help her produce hard shells.

Maybe a general tonic in her water might give her a boost too.

Hope she feels better soon.

I had 2 hens from a local farm and one of them was prone to laying soft shelled eggs. On a couple of occasions the egg hadn't passed fully so she'd strike the poorly pose but usually within 24 hours the remaining egg would be passed.