beingmaisie

Advice on eglu versus wooden hen house please

Hi, I can imagine this has been asked many times but as i am new to this i'm hoping you will take pity on me.

I have 3 x 9 day old chicks at present looking for a new home soon. I have the chance of a second hand eglu whilst hubby wants to build me a wooden house. As i am the only one who's going to be cleaning it out i would prefer an eglu for convenience.

Has anyone here swapped an eglu for a traditional house and if so why. They look so easy to maintain and clean but just how many chickens can live in one. I may want to add to my flock later on, does this mean i need another eglu then.

Finally, has anyone found that their ladies lay more eggs in an eglu or a wooden house.

Any advice you can give me about this would be brilliant.

thanks from a very happy chicken newbie

Gill

I started off with an Eglu and now have a wooden house as well as I have two separate flocks.

If you only have three chooks an Eglu would be ideal as its perfect for three and so easy to clean, I love mine :D

I do like the wooden house too as it is well designed and reasonably easy to clean

If you don't get an Eglu my recommendation is to get a good quality wooden house, really cheap ones don't last and I have read many horror stories of constant maintenance and them being tricky to keep clean

My mum threatened to call the RSPCA when I got my Eglu :lol: Silly lady :roll:

When you see the chickens all piled up in one corner of an Eglu you realise there is loads of space inside - they are bigger than they look! the run size does restrict you a bit but the same goes for a wooden house, try to give them decent run space but like I say they will all pile in to the house no problems :lol:

Hubby has agreed so am looking forward to getting it now. We are building a run for them, max 12 feet long hopefully by 4 feet wide, so tbey should be fine with that.