buddoggy

Bonfire Night.........Any ideas?????

Hi Guys,

Heres the worry.......Bonfire night.......or nights as it seems to be by us!

This is my first year with the girls and I am a bit concerned about the noise from the fireworks .Mine dont have the luxury of an Eglu as I imagine with them being insulated they are probably well sound proofed.

Any ideas on how they might fair.

xxx

Last year was my first bonfire night with chooks and I was worried sick about it for a week. For the few nights around the beginning of November, I started shutting the cube door at night (they are inside a secure walk in run, so I normally leave the cube door open).

But fear not, In the event, all my fretting was for nowt. The girls were absolutely fine, only slightly irked that they had to wait for me to let them out in the mornings! No frights caused by fireworks as far as I could tell. I think once they get settled inside their roost, they go into a sort of trance and nothing seems to bother them until dawn.

Having forgotten in April of last year that my garden not only backs up onto a rather noisy elevated road traffic bridge support but is also adjacent to Midsummer Common where fireworks go off for at least a month before the official Guy Fawkes Night show and for two or three months afterwards, it did eventually dawn on me that my lovely chooks might be upset by all the commotion.

I also couldn't have predicted that only a few months after the Cube had been set up in my back garden that the sewers in the back passage would have collapsed and needed replacement which took almost a year of loud sounds and huge vibrations.

I never tried to modify the situation as I felt (or at least hoped) that their Cube would give them the security that they needed.